Menu

Commercial Truck Driving/Commercial Vehicle Operator

Training Program

Credential(s) Offered

Industry certification, Government license, Employment, Measurable skills gain

Method of Delivery

Hybrid or blended

When offered

Daytime Hours, Evening Hours

Instructional Program (CIP)

Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor. 490205

Description

The commercial driving program at NWTI is a four-week, 160+ hour training program. This course includes an online component to prepare the students for the Arkansas CDL permit exam.  Upon receipt of permit the student will attend the in person portion of instruction. Training is for a Class A CDL Drivers License with an air brake endorsement and the driving skills to prepare for the driving test administered by the Arkansas State Police. Objectives covered include: Arkansas and Federal Motor Vehicle Carrier Act laws and regulations, basic tractor/trailer skills and handling, pre-trip and post-trip inspections, mileage logs, safety practices, backing, over-the-road driving, and more.

Details

Program Length (Weeks)

4

Hours

160

Entrance Requirements

None

School

NORTHWEST Technical Institute (NWTI)

WIOA Approved Program

Yes

Curriculum Competency Based

Range and Public road driving is evaluated by instructor

Training Location(s)

709 South Old Missouri Road, Springdale, Arkansas

Local WIB

5025 - Northwest

Name of Credential

Certificate of Completion, Class A license

Type of financial aid offered or have access to

none

Refund Policy

Full refund prior to start of program.

$3500 refund if only completing the online test prep.

 

Is the proposed curriculum currently certified by an accrediting agency or similar national standardization program?

No

Is this proposed curriculum considered a nontraditional program of training services for women?

Yes

Is this proposed curriculum considered a nontraditional program of training services for men?

No

Cost Items

In-State/District Tuition

$4,000.00 $500 online test prep $3500 driving range and public road

Total In-State Program Cost

$4,000.00

Demand Occupation(s)

53-3033.00Light Truck Drivers
$0.00 per hour
Required Certification: CDL Class A License
53-3032.00Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers
$0.00 per hour
Required Certification: CDL Class A License

Provider Status

Approved

Address

709 South Old Missouri Road, Springdale, Arkansas 72765

Phone Number

(479) 751-8824

Fax Number

(479) 751-7780

Web Address

http://www.nwti.edu

Last Updated

Jul 29, 2021

Created

Jul 23, 2021